I sat in the Taft seat!

Ladies and gentleman, meet President Taft. As you can see, the man was a giant force of life.

image

As such, when he came to hear Yale music department performances, the man needed a seat to fit his giant force-of-life behind! They built a chair specifically for this purpose, and it is lovingly known as the “Taft seat.” For the New Haven Symphony, we reserve it for special guests – people who sponsor a concert, have been a wonderful partner, or sometimes randomly one of our parents gets it.

I finally got a chance to check it out before our last concert this past Thursday. As far as the extremely uncomfortable ancient seats found in Woolsey Hall, I’d say that if you slapped a seat cushion on this seat, you’d probably have yourself the most comfortable seat in the house!

If any of you want to sit in this seat by donating some $$$ to the NHSO, you just let me know!!

Other notable firsts:
* I had never commuted to work for an entire week by train. Dante and I are moving in together sometime this summer and wanted to see what it would be like to live together in New London since he’s got a pretty sweet pad. I liked the commute, but no so much when the commute started…I had to be out of bed by 5:45am. For those of you who know me well, this was not an easy feat!

* I had never eaten at Krust in Middletown! Delicious! And I got to hang out with Amber and Steve AND her parents! Her mom had run 20 miles that morning. Whut.

* I had never eaten at a Yard House outside of Honolulu! When we visited Mike and Kristen in New Jersey, we ended up at one and I was STOKED!!

* I had never heard Peter and the Wolf live before! The perks of my job 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I sat in the Taft seat!

  1. Terry G. says:

    I always love to read about your adventures! ❌⭕️❌

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

