I wrote a children’s book!

The last time that I saw Lex and Mike was at Lex’s 30th birthday back in March. While I was there, they told me that they would love it if I wrote them a children’s book for Jamie, their son who will be born in October (if all goes to plan…hopefully there’s no carryover into November, haha)

Of course I said yes, and spent random moments over the last few months trying to figure out how to write a children’s book. When August 1st hit (I knew her shower was going to be on the 23rd), I realized that I really needed to get on this thing, stat! As I was looking around the house, my eyes fell on my family’s turkey hat that an aunt gave to my brother a few years ago for Christmas. I had an AHA! moment and called my favorite photographer over (aka Dante). You know someone is in love with you when you open the door dressed like this:

Girl ones

and they don’t flinch, don’t ask questions, and just take your picture over a billion times to help bring your “brilliant” idea to life.

In the end, I wrote a story about a baby turkey that wanders away, runs into a bunch of turkeys, and makes his way back home to his parents. Shutterfly lets its users post their books onto a sharing site, so if you’d like to check out my book, you can click here:

http://caitdbabybook.shutterfly.com/#%3aemid%3dsite_weeklydigest%26cid%3dSHARE3SXXXX

Other notable firsts:

* I had never been to the beach in Old Saybrook! My cousins rented a house in the Indiantown part of town, and I stopped by to visit them today. I passed a few students along the way (always slightly terrifying!) but luckily I can still say that no student has ever seen me in a bathing suit. Phewwwwwwwww.

* I had never been to the beach with Amber. She’s a great friend that I made while I was interning in Old Saybrook (she was also interning there, but for guidance counseling). We hung out on the beach this past Tuesday, and by Thursday she had a job!!!! WOOOO HOOOO!!!!

* I had never had fig vodka before. Sweet, but delicious.

* I had never seen Dante actually play tennis before. We play together a lot, but usually just volley and have fun hitting it back and forth. There aren’t any rules…we can let the ball bounce as many times as we want, no out of bounds, hit it off the fence, blah blah blah. When we were at the courts a few days ago, we were getting ready to go, but a man who was playing by himself (against a wall) asked if he could hit against Dante for a little bit. He was so good!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I wrote a children’s book!

  1. Pingback: I went to Storrs Adventure Park! | Well I Never!

Leave a Reply

