I dropped mentos into a diet coke bottle!

I had always HEARD about the reaction that was supposed to occur when mentos were dropped into Coke, but had never tried it nor seen it happen in real time.

Heather told me how to do the process, and explained that it had to be diet coke (and the real thing, not a knock-off) and the mentos had to be dropped in simultaneously, not one by one.

So I bought a bottle of diet coke, a roll of mentos, and grabbed a piece of paper to use as a funnel to make sure all of the mentos dropped in at roughly the same time. We headed to a park to play a little tennis (make sure to check out THAT video down below….you won’t want to miss it!) and do the experiment in the grass so there would be no cleanup afterwards.

I wasn’t sure how many mentos needed to be dropped into the bottle, so I decided on 5 and hoped for the best. The result was AMAZING:

Apparently we only needed two mentos to make the reaction, as there were three whole mentos lying around the outside of the bottle after the explosion! We were curious to see if the reaction would happen again, so I dropped another one into the bottle, but nothing happened.

threementos

Other notable firsts:
* I had never re-written curriculum before. This might sound ho-hum to you, but I LOVED IT! Sorting, sifting, and organizing content is priceless and almost calming to me. My cooperating teacher was happy to give me this experience.

* I had never met Amy’s daughter, Charlotte before! This cutie is 3 weeks old and is also the first 1/2 Korean 1/2 Jewish baby that I’ve ever met. (At least, according to my knowledge…) If someone had told me 15 years ago, as I was cleaning up your puke on the whale watch, that I’d be holding your daughter today, I don’t think I could have imagined it. Life’s pretty cool, isn’t it?!

charlotte

* I had never played tennis in Washington Park in Groton before. Dante and I decided to make a digital short about our day of playing tennis. Please, enjoy this video that we made for your viewing pleasure!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

