I tried coconut pulling!

I had seen this term being passed around on facebook through articles that people had posted after reading them. I was so confused about the term coconut pulling. Why would you want to pull coconuts? How do you pull them apart? Who invented this idea?

After reading through one, I realized people did it for health reasons. Coconut oil (and other oils like olive oil) supposedly help to relieve a whole bunch of health problems, from bad breath to sinusitis to headaches. I’m always a skeptic when it comes to people claiming that a homeopathic something-or-other supposedly works wonders (sometimes I think people just like to get other people to do weird things). So I decided to give it a try.

The articles said using organic is the best, and we just happened to have some organic coconut oil in our cabinet (I have absolutely no idea why).

IMG_20140321_202438

You’re supposed to take about a tablespoon of the oil, sort of let it melt in your mouth, and then swish it around your mouth like mouthwash for 20 minutes.

IMG_20140321_202604

Apparently, the oil picks up a bunch of toxins from your body and then expels them when you spit the oil out.

So what do I think?

Welp, it could be a ridiculous coincidence, but I don’t have a perpetually stuffy nose in the morning! I’ve only been doing it for 4 days, but I seriously woke up on the first morning with no stuffy nose. That NEVER happens. Blowing my nose is a normal part of my daily routine. So HOORAY for that!

Other than that, I don’t really get a lot of head aches, so I’m not sure about the rest of the claims, but I’m a believer for the stuffy nose claims for sure!!

It’s also kind of zen-like to just sit and swish for 20 minutes. It’s kind of relaxing!

Other notable firsts:

* I had never had a mint coolata from dunkin’ before. And I got great customer service to boot! They were really slow, and when I asked the first guy what he thought about the new mint coolatas, he said “Well, to be honest, I hate mint!” So I laughed hysterically and thanked him for his honesty. Then one of his co-workers said that he could make me a sample of it, so he did, and then the first guy said that they could even add in mocha and make it taste thin-minty!! I said ‘No WAY!!!’ and then I got ANOTHER sample of that, and finally ordered a medium (definitely could not finish it). Here’s a pic of all of my cups haha (oh, and Dante playing a thumb war, too)….

IMG_20140323_181323

* I had never read an article on how to not give a flying thought as to what people think about you. It had really great advice, and this beautifully crafted sentence: “It is a sad realization, but an honest one: most people are more comfortable with self-loathing then they are with the possibility of a minor offense to someone else.” I sat with that one heavy in my head for a few minutes. It’s both a blessing and a curse that I attempt to please others. Their joy gives me joy, and lots of it. But if I think about how many things I’ve done for others vs. how many I’ve done for myself (and how different my life would be if I stopped!), it’s the disappointment that others will feel/judge me for that makes my heart skip a beat. This will be an interesting year, that’s for sure!

http://thoughtcatalog.com/nick-dorazio/2013/10/the-one-trick-to-not-caring-about-what-people-think/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

