I made my own shampoo and conditioner!

There are a lot of things that baking soda can be used for, like when I attempted to use it as deoderant last year.

I was watching a report on one of those dumb celebrity-journalist shows (probably inside edition, maybe?) that looked into cheap/natural products that don’t involve chemicals. “Yeah right!” I giggled. “Never trying those!”

Right. Flash forward 2 weeks when I realize I haven’t really done anything new this week.

I found this website: http://www.diynatural.com/homemade-shampoo/ which links to another one on how to make your own conditioner.

Unfortunately, I messed up…..big time! (And it’s kind of hilarious!!!)

Baking soda and baking powder are two totally different things. I thought that what I used to make my ice cream bread was baking soda. Oooops.

I was SUPPOSED to mix a tablespoon of baking soda with a cup of water, and for the conditioner mix 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar with a cup of water. It warned me that my hair would feel sort of cake-y, and it surely did! The apple cider conditioner felt great in the shower (the site said that using that conditioner after the baking soda shampoo would really help to dissolve the cake-like feel from the shampoo).

IMG_20140202_130139

As it began to dry, I realized it didn’t feel…..”right.” I mean, I hadn’t used the spray bottles that the site had suggested, but seriously?! What was going on with my hair?!! You can see my confusion in the “after” picture (on the right).

Picture 10

This morning I actually re-read the ice cream bread post and noticed my mistake. Right now I probably still have residual baking powder still in my hair. I may need to try this experiment over again HAHA

The apple cider vinegar definitely felt great in the shower, so I think it’s worth it! And if it does actually work and feel good with baking soda, these two products are WAAAAY cheaper than the normal stuff you buy at the store!

Other notable firsts:

* I had never attempted the Sunday crossword puzzle before! I got much farther than I thought I would.

IMG_20140202_130103

* I had never been a student teacher before! First week done. I legitimately tried to quit on Friday, but that didn’t quite work out. So, I suppose I have 12 more weeks to go. I will look forward to copious amounts of alcohol upon completion. I will also need so much emotional support, it’s not even funny. I won’t have time to hang out, but if you want to send inspirational text messages/funny e-mails, they would be greatly appreciated!

* I had never gone to the swing dance at the middle school! I missed last year because I was puppy-sitting. I desperately needed this. The hugs/high fives that the kids gave me when they saw me reminded me that the kids are the best part of teaching, hands down. And it’s always amazing to go back to the small piece of heaven that OSMS is. Supportive, caring teachers that just want to have fun with life and their jobs.

I also got to talk to one of my favorite teachers, who taught 4th grade, and she reminded me that sometimes you just have to do things you don’t want to do. She cried every day during the year that she taught 6th grade (she loved 4th grade), but she made it through….I may have to cry, every day, to get through this experience, but if she did it, I can do it! It’s hard that it had to come directly after my last trying experience, but I suppose I just have to hope that this will all lead to a huge appreciation when I land my first job.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I made my own shampoo and conditioner!

  1. Nicole says:

    Hey, this is how I’ve been washing my hair since April! You might want to wait until summer to give it a real try though, it gets naaaasty for like 2 months at least while your scalp re-learns how much oil to make.

    Like

Leave a Reply

