I drove a mini cooper!

My mom bought this car towards the end of summer, but hasn’t let me drive it until tonight.

IMG_20131215_153503

It was really fun!!! It was a little boxy, but there was more than enough room. I had a few problems with the clutch, since it rode a little higher than the clutch in my car.

I also had some problems putting it in reverse. To put it in reverse, you have to move it all the way over to the left (where our first gear is). This threw me off a bit the first time, as I was looking backwards but began moving forwards. WHOOPSIES!!!! I quickly figured out what the problem was and adjusted the stickshift.

IMG_20131215_153600

There was also a weird key, a weird turn signal, and I had NO CLUE how to work the buttons/dials, but it was still a pretty cool ride!!

Other notable firsts:

* I had never read “A Grief Observed,” by C.S. Lewis. Heather got this book for my birthday, but I haven’t had time to read it because of all the school reading. When I was younger, I read the whole “Chronicles of Narnia” series in a week, and a few years ago discovered “Mere Christianity.” I’m a huge fan of his writing, both fiction and non-fiction, and am fascinated by him as an apologetic author. He wrote this book after his wife died, and it was him trying to rationalize both his grief as well as his God (for giving him a soul mate and then taking her away). I was more interested in his description of grief than his musings on religion in this book, but will definitely look into the latter when I read it again the future. I found his writing to be heartbreakingly beautiful, as he pinpoints the names of his emotions so clearly. He strips away the flowery language that some authors use when describing grief, instead leaving words that get to the heart of the matter. I was highlighting and folding pages like a fiend.

* I had never heard my computer make this noise before. I seriously thought it was going to take off:

* I had never been to the Brazen Hen in Westerly before. We went there last Tuesday to see Kevin in trivia action. It was a great venue!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

