I went to a body building competition!

I have known my best friend in the entire world, Chris, since I was 7 years old. He’s ALWAYS there when I need him, no question is ever too stupid to analyze philosophically, and he was one of the first people to accept my quirky ridiculousness. He’s one of the very few people who knows everything about me. Literally, everything. And he ALWAYS knows the perfect thing to say when I start thinking too much about whatever existential crisis I’m going through at the moment. I’m so lucky that he is my brain-mate (it’s sort of like a soul-mate for the brain).

Anywho, now that all the sappy stuff is out of the way, Chris has been training since January for two body building competitions this month. He had the first last week and placed fourth. Yesterday as his second competition. The training for it was GRUELING; he had to eat chicken, fish, lean meat, vegetables, and brown rice. THAT’S IT!!! He also had to work out A LOT. After a few months of bulking up and adding mass, he then had to carefully starve himself to take off all the excess body fat. I can’t even make it through a night without ice cream….I can’t even IMAGINE this diet!

The competition itself was fascinating. I think sometimes body builders get bad reps for being meatheads or self-centered. But I think it was beautiful to see; it was sort of like live art. These people literally sculpted their own bodies. They had to carefully think about how they were going to build each muscle. It was amazing to see how many muscles there actually ARE in a human body!

I took a video, but unfortunately can’t get it to my computer. Hopefully an upload will be possible in the future!

Here’s a picture of Chris from his competition last weekend (my camera on my phone is terrible!)

chrisposed

Here’s a picture of the two of us together…I’ve totes got a future in body building, for sure.

IMG_20130608_150719

Here’s Chris with his awesome fiance, Kari. Kari had to live through his crazy lifestyle change over the past 6 months. The wedding is still on for September….she has the patience of a saint!!!

IMG_20130608_150600

Other notable firsts:

* I had never acted like a cat so much in a week. In a strange sequence of events, I moved very cat-like last Friday while hanging out with my cohort, then proceeded to crawl, cat-like, on a table while waiting for my dreaded Monday night class to begin, and finally acted like a cat while acting out a fireman scene in my Tuesday night class. I pretended to be stuck in a tree, and two male cohort members came and literally dragged me off the windowsill, passed me from one to another, and then threw me over their shoulders as they ran away from the fire. I did not know this part of the skit was going to happen. It was amazing.

* I had never had the realization that the only thing that gets teachers through all of the absolute B.S. that they must do that is NOT education-related….is the students. I was super bummed on Monday and Tuesday, but when I stopped thinking about it and re-focused on the students, that feeling magically went away. Ironically, it’s the students, even with all of their issues, that will get me through all of the issues of being a teacher. One of my 8th grade boys offered me his last jolly rancher, and I felt like I had climbed Mount Everest.

* I had never played the game “make a wedding dress out of toilet paper” at a bridal shower before! I volunteered to be the bride for our table. We had a fashion designer sitting at our table…how lucky! My dress came complete with a bustle, bouquet, and veil. The top of my real dress made for an excellent top-of-a-TP-wedding dress!

IMG_20130609_140426

photo-20

IMG_20130609_140325

Chris’s Grandma Rachel was chosen to be the model for her table. Yep, that’s a TP cigarette in her right hand.

photo-21

The girl second from the left won the competition. I did admire her head piece.

photo-22

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I went to a body building competition!

  1. Pingback: I deposited (attempted) a check in the bank drive-thru! | Well I Never!

  2. Good blog you have here.. It’s difficult to find high quality writing
    like yours these days. I really appreciate people like you!
    Take care!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

