I ate/cooked rhubarb!

A few different ideas that I had fell through this weekend, so I do what I always do when this happens: I head to the grocery store. There are usually a few things that I walk past that catch my attention and make me think “What IS that?!”

Today was no exception. As I walked through the fruit/veggies aisle, I walked past some red celery. I immediately backed up to investigate. That’s when I realized it was rhubarb! I didn’t even know that rhubarb was a vegetable! I thought it was some sort of spice that bakers put in pies!

IMG_20130428_150245

I went home, cleaned it and cut off the ends and took a bite.

BAD IDEA!!!!

It tasted SUPER bitter and had that stringy consistency of celery that I hate. So a quick google search gave me a few different ideas, and I combined some to make my own recipe:

1. Dump in some orange juice, vanilla extract, and sugar.

IMG_20130428_150840

2. Boil the crap out of it until it sort of dissolves.

IMG_20130428_154950

3. Wait til it cools then spoon some over vanilla ice cream.

This was SO DELICIOUS that I forgot to take a picture before I ate it all. Whoops. But seriously, SO GOOD!!!

Rhubarb is also ridiculously cheap…I got that huge package for less than $2.

Other notable firsts:

* I had never read a book on a kindle before. It sucked. I like books better.

* I had never went to a happy hour at the Black Sheep before. Both the price and the company were great.

* I had never eaten at Aspen, a nice restaurant in Old Saybrook (it was Mom’s birthday!)

* I had never played cards in the back of a pickup truck before. It was a great idea, but a bit hard on the body!

* I had never understood why the area of a triangle is BxH/2. I observed a 6th grade math class this week and saw them come up with the reason why (two triangles fit into a square/rectangle. the area is BxH, so you divide by 2 to get the triangle’s area. Whoooooa)

* I had never seen King’s Bakery sweet bread sold on the mainland!! This one made my heart happy and I’m pretty sure that I may or may not have broken into a happy dance right in front of the stand.

IMG_20130428_143406

Quote of the week:
4th grade student: Miss Daly, are you single?
Me: Yep!
Student: Why does nobody want to date you?
Me (laughing hysterically): Not sure honey! But it’s OK to be single! You get to have lots of fun! It’s cool!
Student: No…..it’s not. (Walks away)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

